A Band Director’s Prayer For His Students

Dear Heavenly Father,

Thank you for the opportunity to teach today.

Please help my students learn more than just music; help them learn how to think and concentrate and do their best.

Help them learn the value of hard work, self-discipline, respect for self, respect for others, and respect for authority.

May they learn to be organized and responsible, and to take responsibility for their actions.

Help them learn to set goals and then do what is needed to achieve those goals.  Along the way I pray they will learn how to work together, and to be considerate, encouraging, patient, and kind.

And when they achieve their goals I pray they will know the joy of learning and the pride that comes from a job well done.

In all of this I pray my students will learn they are capable of doing much more than they ever thought possible.

And most of all, Lord, I pray that you will show them how immeasurably valuable each of them is to you.

In Jesus’ name,

Amen.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Hi!
    I attend a Catholic High School and I came up with the idea to post prayers on my band’s website. When searching for prayers, I found yours and thought it was perfect for what I was looking for. I will credit your name on the website, but I would also like your permission to use your prayer on my band’s website.
    Thanks

    Reply

    • Feel free to use it as desired. I am gratified to know someone else has found it meaningful.

      Rob Shaver

      Reply

      • Thank you so much! I’m not sure exactly when your prayer will be posted, but it you want to see it on our band’s website, you can go to gocathedral.com and click on band under the On Campus tab.
        Thanks again!

  2. Posted by Connie on March 1, 2013 at 11:04 pm

    This is a beautiful prayer. My son is a band director and is in search of a job. Please pray that God will open the door for him. I will start praying this in advance for the job that God is going to give him.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

